Need Help

Thanks for printing!  Don't forget to come back to SafeWay Driving for fresh articles!

Why SafeWay Driving

State Approved

State Approved

Certified by the TDLR

32 Hour Online Course

32 Hour Online Course

Desktop and Laptop Compatible

Online Permit Test

Online Permit Test

Built-In Practice Quizzes

24/7/365 Scheduling

24/7/365 Scheduling

Schedule Drives at Your Convenience

Advanced In-Car Training

Advanced In-Car Training

Get on the Road to Safe Driving

Convenient Drive Sites

Convenient Drive Sites

Locally Owned and Operated

Why SafeWay Driving For Teens?

Learning to drive is not a rite of passage. It’s not a game or cool app. It’s a learned skill-set. Driving is the only dangerous thing most people do every day, and it requires a certain skill level if you want to survive today’s challenging roadways. You don’t become a safe driver by getting a driver’s license. You become a safe driver by spending hours of time practicing in the car with a Certified Professional Driving Instructor.
  • The Very Best In-Car Training: You learn to drive in a car, not in a course.
  • Ultimate Convenience: Handle everything from your computer except the driving.
  • Save More Time: Save 32 trips to an old-school classroom with our online course.
  • Integrated Curriculum: Our online course blends seamlessly into our in-car training.
  • Experience: Over 44 years of training more than 275,000 SAFE drivers.
Why SafeWay Driving For Teens?
Why SafeWay Driving For Teens?

Steps to Your License

Learn Teen Licensing Process
1

Learn Teen Licensing Process

Texas law requires teens to complete a 32 hour theory course, 7 hours of driving & 7 hours of observation. An additional 30 hours of driving must be logged before you can get your license. SafeWay offers our teen course online with convenient local drive sites in your neighborhood!
How to Get My License
Enroll in a Drivers Ed Program
2

Enroll in a Drivers Ed Program

You can enroll in a drivers ed program shortly before your 15th birthday. When selecting a program, be sure that it includes both the theory and behind the wheel training. SafeWay Driving’s online course is fully integrated with our in-car training, making it the most comprehensive teen drivers ed course in Texas!
Start Your SafeWay Driving Course Today!
Apply for Your Permit
3

Apply for Your Permit

To get your permit, you will need to receive the permit portion of your DE-964 from your course provider. You will take this certificate to DPS along with the other required identification documents. Unlike some online programs that make you wait until you’ve completed the course, SafeWay Driving will mail your permit paperwork after successfully completing your third session!
Schedule a Permit Appointment at DPS
Complete Drivers Ed Program
4

Complete Drivers Ed Program

To get your completion certificate, you’ll need to successfully complete 32 hours of theory work as well as a minimum of 7 hours of driving and 7 hours of observation with a certified driving school or registered parent-taught program. Remember that learning to drive is not a rite of passage, but a skill set. National Standards recommend at least 10 hours of behind the wheel professional instruction.
Complete Your Drivers Ed with SafeWay!
Transfer to SafeWay Driving
5

Transfer to SafeWay Driving

Have you started a course with a different provider but are unsatisfied with your experience? You can transfer to SafeWay Driving to complete your drivers ed program! Before you begin your in-car driving with us, we’ll induct you into the SafeWay Driving System so that you are fully prepared to get behind the wheel.
Transfer to SafeWay Driving Today!
Complete 30 Hour Driving Log
6

Complete 30 Hour Driving Log

The 81st Texas legislature enacted the Less Tears More Years Act which requires young drivers to receive an additional 30 hours of behind-the-wheel instructions by a certified instructor, parent or guardian before you can receive your license. At least 10 of these hours must take place at nighttime. SafeWay Driving can provide some or all of these hours for you.
Download the 30 Hour Log
Take Your DPS Road Test
7

Take Your DPS Road Test

Avoid the hassle of taking your driving test at the DPS office. SafeWay Driving is now authorized to offer the official Road Test at our convenient SafeWay Drive Sites. Get your license in familiar surroundings! Whether you take your Road Test with SafeWay or choose to wait to take it with the DPS, you will first need to take the two-hour online IMPACT course.
Schedule Your Road Test with SafeWay!
Apply for Your License
8

Apply for Your License

To get your license, you will need to receive the license portion of your DE-964 from your course provider. You will take this certificate to DPS along with the other required identification documents. If you take your Road Test with SafeWay Driving, we will provide you with a sealed envelope to take to DPS.
Schedule a License Appointment at DPS

The Road to Your License

0:00 Hours Behind the Wheel

Online Course & Permit Test

SafeWay Driving’s proprietary online driver education course includes the online permit test and is designed to prepare you for your in-car driver training. Access your course 24/7/365 to develop safe choices and safe habits before you get behind the wheel at one of our conveniently located driving schools.

Keep driving down the page to learn how to get on the road to safe driving with our behind the wheel package options!

6 Hours

of Convenient Online Classes to
Become Eligible for Your Permit

7:00 Hours Behind the Wheel

Minimum Driving Requirement

The State requires a minimum of 7 hours of driving and 7 observation for a teen to get their license, for a total of 14 hours behind the wheel. SafeWay’s State Minimum will fulfill the State requirements, but keep in mind an additional 30 hours of driver training must be completed before you will be eligible for your license.

Keep scrolling to see the benefit of more driving hours with SafeWay!

75%

of Serious Teen Crashes are due to “critical errors”
including speeding, distractions and not scanning the road

10:00 Hours Behind the Wheel

Meets National Standards

7 hours is just not enough for a young driver, which is why the National Standard suggests 10 hours of in-car driver training. The SafeWay Basic Package meets this standard while providing some additional training on freeways and intersections, which is where a majority of teen accidents occur.

Continue down the Road to Safe Driving to learn how our Advanced Packages can provide you peace of mind!

60%

of Fatal Crashes in Texas Occurred on a Freeway

17:00 Hours Behind the Wheel

The Beginning of Advanced Training

There’s a difference between getting your license and learning how to drive. With the SafeWay Driving Advanced Package you’ll drive on tracks targeted to prepare you for the most common teen driving challenges while also lessening the parental driving requirement.

Drive on to learn how you can take your driving skills to the next level!

53%

of Teen Vehicle Deaths Occur Friday through Sunday

27:00 Hours Behind the Wheel

Advanced Training at the Next Level

There are no shortcuts to becoming a safe driver. The SafeWay Advanced Plus course will put your skills to test through specially designed driving tracks that progressively become more challenging as you complete each level. Including the option of nighttime training hours, this comprehensive course lessens the parental driving requirement to 10 hours.

Complete the Road to Safe Driving to get the utmost in driver training.

3x More

Fatal Crashes Involved Drivers 16-19
than Drivers 20+

37:00 Hours Behind the Wheel

The Ultimate in Advanced Training

Teens only become safe drivers by spending hours of time practicing in the car with a Certified Professional Driving Instructor. The SafeWay Advanced Pro Package fulfills the parental driving requirements and provides 37 hours of the utmost in professional driver training and includes our “No-Wreck” Guarantee*!
Some restrictions apply - see product page for details.

1,003 Deaths

to date on Texas roadways in 2017

SafeWay Training Packages

  • Teen
Safeway <br />Advanced Pro

Safeway
Advanced Pro

The Ultimate in
Advanced Training

View Pricing
Safeway <br />Advanced Plus

Safeway
Advanced Plus

Advanced Training at
the Next Level

View Pricing
Safeway <br />Advanced

Safeway
Advanced

The Beginning of
Advanced Training

View Pricing
Safeway <br />Basic

Safeway
Basic

The National
Minimum

View Pricing

State
Minimum

The Minimum
Required

View Pricing

Total Seat Time Hours

Total Seat Time Hours

The total number of hours your teen will drive with a Certified Professional Driving Instructor included in each package.
Safeway <br />Advanced Pro
Safeway <br />Advanced Plus
Safeway <br />Advanced
Safeway <br />Basic
State <br />Minimum

State Driving Hours Remaining

State Driving Hours Remaining

The Texas “Less Tears-More Years” Act requires a parent, guardian or professional instructor to drive with each teen for 30 hours, no more than one per day, and 10 of which must be at night, following completion of their initial driving course. The number in this chart shows how many of those hours you must still complete before your teen can get their driver license. Why not let our Certified Professional Driving Instructors take that burden away while training your driver in a safety equipped, well-marked training car?
0
10
20
27
30

State Minimum License Requirement

State Minimum License Requirement

The least training required by State law to get a teen driver license. Does not meet new National Standards of 10 hours minimum behind-the-wheel training and is recommended only for those concerned with their budget. We believe it is the best State Minimum required driving program in Texas but still recommend more hours of in-car training for your young driver.

Exceeds National Standards

Exceeds National Standards

New National Standards suggest a minimum of 10 Hours driving.

Add'l. Freeway/Intersection/ Parallel Parking Practice

Add'l. Freeway/Intersection/ Parallel Parking Practice

Most teenage incidents occur at intersections, on freeways and in parking lots. Every young driver needs extra coaching in these areas beyond what the State Minimum program provides.

Exclusive Insurance Discounts

Exclusive Insurance Discounts

Through our exclusive partnership with Nationwide Insurance, SafeWay Driving is able to provide you additional insurance discounts not offered by ANY other driving school. And the savings extends to anyone in your family that is related to a SafeWay Driving graduate for your cars, homes, boats and other insurance needs. We can save you enough money to more than pay for your driver training program!

Priority Instructor Selection

Priority Instructor Selection

Provides you the option of selecting your instructor. Regular drivers are not allowed to select instructors due to scheduling conflicts.

Emergency Roadside Kit

Emergency Roadside Kit

A cool SafeWay Driving branded emergency kit that includes over 30 emergency care items for you and your car.

S.A.F.E. Certification "No-Wreck" Guarantee

S.A.F.E. Certification "No-Wreck" Guarantee

SafeWay’s exclusive “No-Wreck” guarantee is the only one of its kind in the driver training industry. If your teen successfully completes our S.A.F.E. certification and is at fault in an accident within one year of graduation, SafeWay Driving will pay the deductible on the car they were driving. *Some restrictions apply.

Fulfills All Parental Driving Requirements

Fulfills All Parental Driving Requirements

No additional driving is required by parents at the end of this course.
First-Time 18-24 Private Driver Training Specialty Packages Online Defensive

First-Time 18-24 Course

Learn the rules of Texas roadways online then build your skills behind the wheel.

Online License Course Plus

Safest

Apply what you learn online in the best classroom - a car.
  • State Approved 6 Hour Course
  • Private Driver Training (2 hrs)
$299
Enroll Now Learn More

Online License Course

Safe

Learn Texas road rules and road signs at your convenience.
  • State Approved 6 Hour Course

$99
Enroll Now Learn More

Private Driver Training

Drive privately with a highly trained professional instructor to improve your skills.

Private Driver Training (8 HRS)

Safest

The ultimate in-car training.
  • 4 Private Driving Lessons
$749
Enroll Now Learn More

Private Driver Training (4 HRS)

Safer

Advanced in-car training.
  • 2 Private Driving Lessons
$389
Enroll Now Learn More

Private Driver Training (2 HRS)

Safe

Initial in-car training.
  • 1 Private Driving Lesson
$219
Enroll Now Learn More

Driver Assessment

A professional assessment of your strengths and weaknesses behind the wheel.

Plus

Assess & Train

Build your skills following a professional assessment of your driving ability.
  • Driver Assessment (1 hr)
  • Electronic Report
  • Customized Driver Training (1 hr)
$289
Enroll Now Learn More

Basic

Assess Only

Our instructor will assess your driving skills and identify areas for improvement.
  • Driver Assessment (1 hr)
  • Electronic Report
$199
Enroll Now Learn More

Adult DPS Test Service

Lessen your stress by taking the DPS test in the same vehicle you trained in.

Adult DPS Test Service

No Hassle

Lessen your stress by taking the DPS test in the same vehicle you trained in.
  • Valet service day of DPS test
  • Use of SafeWay vehicle for DPS test
Starts at $379
Enroll Now Learn More

Collision Recovery

Driving after an incident can be a trying experience. Our professional Instructors will assist you in getting back on the road with confidence.

Collision Recovery

Assess & Improve

Get back on the road
  • Collision Assessment (1 hr)
  • Private Driver Training (2 hrs)
$379
Enroll Now Learn More

Custom Driving Instruction

Custom Driving Instruction

Train

Customized to your needs
Contact Us

Senior Driver Tune-up

Keep your driving skills sharp and learn the latest in road rules and traffic safety.

Senior Driver Tune-up

Assess & Train

Increase your skills and confidence
  • Private Instructor Meeting
  • Driving Simulator (1 hr)
  • Senior Driver Assessment (1 hr)
  • Private Driver Training (1 hr)
  • Instructor Tune-Up Recommendations
$429
Enroll Now Learn More

Online Defensive Driving

This specific course is offered through a third-party partner for insurance discounts and ticket dismissal.

Online Defensive

Course

State Approved Course
$39
Enroll Now Learn More

Teen Driver Training FAQs

Online

Is the SafeWay Driving System online course approved by the State of Texas?

Yes. The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation has approved this course for SafeWay Driving only.

What are the online system requirements for the course?

The Online Course is compatible with Internet Explorer 8 or 9, Mozila 3.6 x, Safari 5 or any browser that provides equivalent functionality. The curriculum also requires the latest versions of Acrobat Reader 6.0 and Flash Player plug-in 8.0. Additionally you must have speakers as sound is required for the course. Currently the course must be accessed on a desktop or laptop.

How is the online learning experience different from a classroom learning experience?

Taking the course online allows you to learn at your own pace without the distractions of your classmates while still having access to a top-trained instructor, just as you would in a classroom. The online course can also be accessed 24/7/365, allowing it to fit into your busy schedule.

Will I still be equally prepared to start practicing behind the wheel driving?

Yes. This online course is comprised of the same comprehensive, proven curriculum we previously taught in our classrooms for over 44 years.

Will I still get to drive with a SafeWay Driving instructor?

Yes. All of our online packages include driving instruction and observation with one of our top-trained SafeWay Driving instructors.

Can I take the online course and still enroll in a SafeWay Advanced Driving package with more driving hours?

Yes. In fact, we strongly encourage students to spend more time in our cars with our top-trained instructors to better prepare for today’s Texas roadways.

Is there an advantage to taking the course online?

Yes. We understand that students are involved in a variety of organizations and have numerous time commitments. The advantage of our online course is that it can be accessed 24/7/365, allowing it to fit into your busy schedule.

Where do I go for technical help regarding the system?

During business hours, system support is available through an online chat feature on the course website. To contact technical support, click on the “Need Help?” icon located in the top right corner of the page. After business hours, you may submit your query as an electronic message through the same application.

Where do I go to ask a question about the curriculum?

Instructor support is available through an online chat feature on the course website. To contact an instructor, click the “Need Help?” icon located in the top right corner of the page. After hours, you may submit your query as an electronic message through the same application. The SafeWay Driving online course also provides an online forum for student interaction with instructors and other students.

How many hours a day can I work on the online course?

The State of Texas mandates that you may only receive 2 hours of instruction a day.

How long will it take me to complete the online course?

You could complete this course as quickly as 20 days if you elect to work daily and book your drives as soon as you have received your learner’s permit. You will have 90 days to complete 32 hours of online instruction and 180 days to complete 14 hours of in-car instruction (7 hours driving / 7 hours observation). The State enforces a 2 hour maximum of instruction per day. Completion of the course is dependent on your learning pace and when you schedule your drives.

What if I don't pass the test at the end of a session?

The session will need to be repeated and the end of session test re-taken. You cannot advance to the next session until you have earned a passing grade. If you do not pass the final test in Session 16, you must repeat the session until you can successfully pass the test.

When will I be able to get my learner's permit?

You will take your permit test online after completing Session 3. Upon passing this exam your certificate will be sent to you via Priority Mail.

How will I acquire the certificate necessary for my learner's permit?

You will be sent the permit portion of your DE-964 via Priority Mail. You will take this certificate to the DPS (please refer to the Permit Checklist to see what other documents DPS will require you to present) to get your permit as long as you are at least 15 years old. Otherwise, you will have to wait until your 15th birthday.

What happens if I miss my 90 day deadline through no fault of my own?

The 90 day online deadline must be enforced. You may extend a deadline for 30 days for $50 if you do so before the deadline date. 

Can I take this course if I don't live near a SafeWay Drive Site?

Yes. Any student that resides in the State of Texas is eligible to take our course. Choose the SafeWay Drive Site nearest you and if there is not one close by, you will need to request a transfer to take your required drives elsewhere.

In-Car

When can I begin signing up for drives?

You may begin scheduling your in-car driving lessons as soon as you obtain your learner’s permit from the DPS and enter the permit number in your online SafeWay Driver Dashboard profile page.

How do I sign up for drives?

Scheduling Behind-the-Wheel times is done by you online at https://drivecenter.safewaydriving.com. This service provides around-the-clock access for viewing your student record and scheduling, canceling and rescheduling Behind-the-Wheel appointments.

How can I ensure that I drive with my favorite instructor?

Due to scheduling complexities the only drivers able to select their instructors are those who are enrolled in one of our Advanced packages. All other drivers will be able to book available drive slots and will drive with the instructor assigned to that specific slot.

How often can I drive?

We recommend you to leave at least one day between driving lessons in order to practice the skills you learned in your previous driving lesson. Practice is important.

How many students are in the car during the driving lesson?

Two students are normally assigned to a car (one is driving and the other is observing). Sometimes there will be only one, and occasionally there will be three, but the third will be observing only.

What do I need to bring to a drive?

You must bring a valid learner’s permit and wear your contacts or glasses (if you have been prescribed them).

What should I wear to a drive?

Dress like you are going to school. We do allow shorts but no tank tops and absolutely no flipflop sandals or other shoes we determine could be a hazard to your driving safety. Athletes, please shower if you are coming straight from practice.

What if I forget to bring my valid learner’s permit to my scheduled driving appointment?

It is illegal for you to drive without a valid learner’s permit. Showing up to your scheduled driving appointment without a valid learner’s permit will result in a $75 no-show fee. To avoid this fee,you may observe for the first hour (if there is another student scheduled to drive) and drive for the second hour if someone can bring your valid permit to the location from which your drive originated before the second hour of the driving appointment.

What if I need to cancel a scheduled driving appointment?

You are responsible for canceling your driving appointments online in your driver portal at least 24 hours before the scheduled driving appointment. Failure to cancel 24 hours prior to a scheduled drive time will result in a $75 late cancellation fee. Emails, phone calls and messages will not be accepted as a valid Behind the Wheel appointment cancellation. Sorry, but there are no exceptions.

How much is the no-show / late cancellation fee?

$75 per lesson. You must pay the fee prior to booking any additional lessons.

How do I pay the no-show / late cancellation fee?

The simplest form of payment is by credit/debit card on our convenient online system but you can also pay by phone at 844.DRIVE SAFE.

Why do I need an extra lesson?

Not all students progress at the same rate. Seven hours behind the wheel driving is the absolute minimum required by the State and many students require more time than this to build their skills and confidence. If you purchase the State Minimum package, know that we may require you to take extra lessons in order to pass our course. We will not pass you until we believe you are ready for today’s roads. 

How much does an extra lesson cost?

An extra lesson is $100 for two hours (driving / observation).

Do we still have to drive in bad weather?

Yes, we will drive in the rain and other inclimate weather as we feel this is good practice for the students. If the weather has advanced to a level that we feel is unsafe to drive, we will notify you that we are canceling any drives. This is our right of decision and notification. If you make the decision you are not going to drive but we are driving that day, you will be charged a no-show fee. There are no exceptions.

What happens if I miss my 180 day deadline through no fault of my own?

The 180 day initial seven hour in-car deadline must be enforced. You may extend a deadline for 30 days for $50 if you do so before the deadline date. 

How will I acquire the certificate necessary for my driver’s license?

You will receive an email letting you know that your certificate of completion (DE-964) has been sent to you via Priority Mail once all course requirements have been met successfully (online and in-car). If you lose or damage your DE-964, a duplicate can be issued to you for $35 including shipping and handling.

What is the 30 Hour “No Tears…More Years™” Act Behind-the-Wheel Instruction Log?

The State of Texas requires all teens, in addition to completing an approved driver training course, to log at least 30 hours of practice (at least ten of which must be at night) with their parent, guardian, or licensed instructor. The Instruction Log lists all of the lesson points that must be practiced. You can find the Instruction Log at 30-hour BTW Instruction Log.pdf. SafeWay Driving offers advanced packages whereby you may purchase 10, 20 or 30 additional (loggable) hours of advanced driving that satisfy the State requirements and provide you with additional practice with a professional instructor.

Does SafeWay Driving offer driving packages that fulfill the 30-hour “No Tears...More Years™” ACT Additional Instruction Log?

Yes. SafeWay Driving offers four advanced driving packages. The SafeWay Basic completes 3 hours of the Additional Instruction Log requirements, the SafeWay Advanced Package completes 10 of the Additional Instruction Log requirements and the Advanced Plus Package completes 20 of the Additional Instruction Log requirements. The SafeWay Advanced Pro fulfills the full 30 hours of the Additional Instruction Log requirements as well as declaring you a SAFE Certified Driver.

What if I am moving and need to complete my drives elsewhere?

You may request a transfer if you need to complete your drives at another school.

How do I request a transfer to another school?

All transfer requests must be made in writing and sent to SafeWay Driving Administration at 929 Gessner Suite 2075 Houston, TX 77024.

Do you offer a refund if I complete my drives elsewhere?

Please see Refund Policy on your contract or in our Terms and Conditions to understand the details.

Can I transfer to SafeWay Driving to do the in-car portion?

Yes, but only through our Transfer Package. We have witnessed that there is a significant difference between the driving abilities and knowledge of drivers from other driving schools and SafeWay Driving professionally instructed drivers. Our Transfer Package will induct a new driver into the SafeWay Driving System prior to beginning the package of their choice.

Can I contract for SafeWay’s Valet Service so that my parents do not have to take me to the school for my drives?

SafeWay Driving offers Valet Packages only to our Basic, Advanced, Advanced Plus and Advanced Pro drivers, as long as you live within 5 miles of a SafeWay Drive Site. Our Valet Service provides for pick-up and drop-off at your home upon parental approval and payment of the service. It must be purchased for the entire package and is not available on a single driving lesson basis.

What is the SafeWay "No-Wreck Guarantee"?

This first of it's kind guarantee is available to students who successfully complete the full SafeWay Driving Advanced Pro program, becoming a S.A.F.E. Certified Driver. If a S.A.F.E. Certified Driver is determined responsible for a collision within one year of graduation, SafeWay Driving will pay the deductible on the car they were driving. It is our promise to you that your driver has received the best driver training available and in the opinion of our licensed professional Instructors is S.A.F.E. Certified for today's roads. Some restrictions do apply. 

What do I have to do to qualify for the SafeWay "No-Wreck Guarantee"?

To take advantage of our SafeWay "No-Wreck Guarantee", you must meet the following requirements: 1) Successfully complete S.A.F.E. Certification through SafeWay's Advanced Pro Driving Program 2) Paid your SafeWay Driving account in full prior to the incident 3) Have an "at-fault" collision within 12 months of completing your S.A.F.E. Certification 4) Receive an official police citation for causing the collision 5) Not be under the influence of drugs or alcohol in the collision 6) Not have any citations for DWI during the 12 months following S.A.F.E. Certification 7) Not be found to be driving distracted (texting, talking on the phone, etc.) during the collision 8) Be insured by Nationwide Insurance through Iscential, Inc. which will also save you money on your insurance!

Insurance

What kind of discount can I expect to earn on my insurance rates?
Car insurance is expensive. Through our exclusive partnership with Nationwide Insurance, SafeWay Driving trained drivers and their families qualify for exclusive insurance discounts of up to 25% which can more than offset the cost of our training. Ultimately, you can get the best driver training for less than you save on your insurance!
Do I have to be put on my parents’ insurance when I get my permit?
You generally will not be put on their insurance until you have received your license, but you will need to contact your specific insurance company for verification.

State Laws

How old do I have to be to start driver training at SafeWay?

You must be within two months of your 15th birthday.

How long must I hold my permit before I am eligible for a license?

You must hold your permit for at least six months, be 16, and have passed an approved driver training course before you are eligible to obtain your driver’s license.

Will I have any restrictions when I get my license?

Yes. The Graduated Driver License Program has two phases of driving requirements for minors. For more information on these restrictions, visit http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/DriverLicense/gdl.htm.

DPS

I've completed my course. What else do I need to do to get my license?

You'll need to turn 16 and have held your permit for at least 6 months before you will be eligible for your license. Additionally you will need complete the 30 Hour "No Tears...More Years™” Act and the two hour IMPACT course. The IMPACT Teen Two Hour Course must be completed by all teens before they will be eligible for their license. The course is available online at https://impacttexasteendrivers.dps.texas.gov. Refer to your Permit DEE-964 Certificate for the proper TDLR school code.

Am I required to take a driving test at the DPS?

Not anymore! Now you can avoid the extremely long waits and hassle of taking your driving test at the DPS office. SafeWay Driving is now certified to offer the official Road Test at our convenient Drive Sites. Get your license in familiar surroundings!

What do I need to bring to the DPS to get my permit / license?

Refer to our Teen Driving Checklist or visit http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/DriverLicense/teenDriver.htm for a list of documents required by DPS.

I have lost or damaged the original certificate of completion (DE-964). How do I get a new one?

We can issue you a duplicate certificate of completion (DE-964) for $35 which includes the cost of a Priority Mailing fee if you choose to have it mailed. You must call our offices to request a copy of your DE-964.

What is the 30 Hour “No Tears…More Years™” Act Behind-the-Wheel Instruction Log?

The State of Texas requires all teens, in addition to completing an approved driver training course, to log at least 30 hours of practice (at least ten of which must be at night) with their parent, guardian, or licensed instructor. The Instruction Log lists all of the lesson points that must be practiced. You can find the Instruction Log at 30-hour BTW Instruction Log.pdf. SafeWay Driving offers advanced packages whereby you may purchase 10, 20 or 30 additional (loggable) hours of advanced driving that satisfy the State requirements and provide you with additional practice with a professional instructor.

Where is the nearest DPS and what are their hours of operation?

Visit http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/ for DPS locations and hours of operation.

Categories

  • Online
  • In-Car
  • Insurance
  • State Laws
  • DPS

Teen Testimonials

  • Between all my homework, college applications and volleyball commitments, I thought I would have to wait until summer to take driver’s ed, but with the online course, I was able to take my course and drives when I had free time. Because of SafeWay, I feel really confident in my driving skills, was able to get my license on my 16th birthday and didn't have to give up any of my other commitments!
    Hannah G.
    SafeWay has the best Instructors. I felt confident when I took my driving test and now I have my license!
    Mac R.
  • I did the Safeway Drivers Course online, and finished at my own pace. I love how I was able to choose my instructors, and drive whenever my schedule allowed.
    Nina R.
    I really enjoyed SafeWay's laid back and fun learning environment. The approachable instructors helped me drive more confidently and made the experience less daunting.
    Yasmin T.
  • I was very impressed with the SafeWay Driving program. The owner, Leslie, went above and beyond to accommodate my son's very busy and challenging schedule. The Houston office which does the initial registration was also very helpful and friendly. Drivers were great and very approachable. Another great aspect is the ability to take the DPS test without going to the DMV. Overall, I would highly recommend this program!
    Amina A.

Find Your Nearest SafeWay Instructor

No nearby locations found, please try another address.

Contact SafeWay Driving

Contact us today to learn more packages, locations and any other questions.

or Give Us A Call at: 844.DRIVE.SAFE